Carolyn R. Russell, Author

Words To That Effect

In the Fullness of Time

In a future where people joyfully arrange their own deaths, a young woman battles the consequences of a biotechnology gone horribly wrong and the cruel theocracy that enforces a sinister solution.

Learn More

Same As It Never Was

"Adjusting to a new town becomes especially hard for a teen once she suspects a service club is up to something sinister in this YA mystery.... An entertaining tale aggrandized by an unshakable protagonist and the family she’s thankfully stuck with.” — Kirkus Reviews
Learn More

The Films of Joel and Ethan Coen

The Films of Joel and Ethan Coen offers detailed analysis of the filmmakers' first seven feature films. Written for both fans and scholars, the book is an entertaining take on the Coens' unique brand of double vision.

Learn More
Carolyn Russell[2]

About Carolyn R. Russell

Carolyn R. Russell is the author of “In the Fullness of Time,” a dystopian thriller published by Vine Leaves Press in 2020. Her humorous YA mystery, “Same As It Never Was,” was released in 2018 by Big Table. “The Films of Joel and Ethan Coen,” her volume of film criticism, was published by McFarland & Company in 2001. Her poetry, essays and short stories have been featured in a variety of publications, including The Boston Globe, Flash Fiction Magazine, Club Plum Literary Journal, Ekphrastic Review, Propertius Press, and Dime Show Review. She holds an M.A. in Film Studies from Chapman University, and has taught on the college, high school, and middle school levels. Carolyn lives on and writes from Boston’s North Shore.


To get in touch with Carolyn, please email her at


Find Carolyn R. Russell's Books

In the Fullness of Time can be found through Vine Leaves Press, in bookstores, or at Amazon.

Same As It Never Was can be ordered from this website, found in bookstores, or at Amazon.

The Films of Joel and Ethan Coen can be found in bookstores or at Amazon.

A note about this site's music!

You have the option of listening to Carolyn's favorite classical piece, "Aquarium," by the French Romantic composer Camille Saint-Saens. It's one of the fourteen movements of his iconic suite, "Carnival of the Animals," written in 1886. Enjoy!